Institut français du Cambodge
Cycle | Séra at the French Institute Cycle | Séra at the French Institute
From October 6 to October 8, the French Institute gives carte blanche to Séra, protean artist – in turn painter, sculptor, draughtsman and graphic... Cycle | Séra at the French Institute

From October 6 to October 8, the French Institute gives carte blanche to Séra, protean artist – in turn painter, sculptor, draughtsman and graphic novel script writer – who was born in Phnom Penh in 1961.

His work never ceases to question the tragic and recent history of Cambodia. His last work “Bitter Cucumbers – the birth of a tragedy” dwells on pre-Khmer rouge times. “History gets lost. The elders don’t want to think about this macabre episode in their life and the young generation, fed with images without context, falls into the trap of common preconceptions. I had to come back to this period of time that has shaped my existence and those of the Cambodians of today.

The French Institute of Cambodia will also present the work undertaken for the Memorial initiated by Séra and approved by the ECCC (Extraordinary Chambers in the Courts of Cambodia). The Memorial should be erected in the near future, in the garden facing the entry of the French Embassy.

Through an exhibition, a meeting and a performance, the French Institute will showcase the work of this major French-Cambodian artist:

————————————————————————————————-

Séra, passer on of the Cambodian memory
[meeting]

The construction of this memorial is an opportunity to understand Séra’s commitment, who uses art as a vector of memory. He will explain his motivations and his creative process during a conference moderated by Olivier Jeandel.

Thursday 06 Oct. at 6:30pm.

————————————————————————————————-

For those who are no longer here
[exhibition]

This exhibition will show the creative work provided by Sera for the erection of the memorial in the gardens facing the French Embassy, as well as and the plates and original drawings composing his latest book.

Opening – Thursday 06 Oct. at 7:30pm
Exhibition until nov. 3

————————————————————————————————-

Séra, live art performance
[performance]

To complete this journey through the work of Séra, the artist offers us a live art performance in the gardens of the Institute. An opportunity to discover his creative process step by step.

Saturday 08 Oct. at 4:30pm

Institut français du Cambodge
Cycle | Séra à l’Institut français Cycle | Séra à l’Institut français
Du 6 au 8 octobre 2016, l’Institut français met à l’honneur Séra, un artiste protéiforme, peintre, sculpteur, dessinateur et scénariste de bandes-dessinées né à... Cycle | Séra à l’Institut français

Du 6 au 8 octobre 2016, l’Institut français met à l’honneur Séra, un artiste protéiforme, peintre, sculpteur, dessinateur et scénariste de bandes-dessinées né à Phnom Penh en 1961.

Son œuvre ne cesse d’interroger l’histoire récente et tragique du Cambodge. Son dernier ouvrage « Concombres Amers, Les racines d’une tragédie » revient sur l’histoire qui précède l’émergence des Khmers Rouges. « L’histoire se perd. Les anciens ne veulent plus penser à cette page funeste de leur existence et les jeunes, nourris d’images se fourvoient dans une lecture qui fait la part belle aux idées reçues. Il me fallait revenir sur cette période qui a façonnée mon existence et celui des cambodgiens d’aujourd’hui. »

L’Institut français de Phnom Penh présentera aussi le travail entrepris pour le Mémorial que SÉRA a initié et qui a été reconnu par le CETC (Chambres Extraordinaire au sein des Tribunaux Cambodgiens). Le Mémorial devrait être érigé dans un avenir proche dans le jardin face à l’entrée de l’Ambassade de France.

C’est autour d’une exposition, d’une conférence et d’une performance que l’IFC interrogera le travail et le rôle de cet artiste majeur :

————————————————————————————————-

Séra, passeur de mémoire cambodgienne
[conférence]

La construction de ce Mémorial est l’occasion de revenir sur l’engagement de Séra, qui utilise l’art comme vecteur de mémoire. Il expliquera ses motivations et son processus de création lors d’une conférence modérée par Olivier Jeandel.

Jeudi 06 Oct. à 18h30.

————————————————————————————————-

A ceux qui ne sont plus là
[expo]

Cette exposition retrace le travail de création fourni par Séra pour ériger le Mémorial dans les jardins de l’Ambassade de France ainsi que les planches et les dessins originaux qui composent son dernier ouvrage.

Vernissage – Jeudi 06 Oct. à 19h30, exposition visible jusqu’au 3 nov.

————————————————————————————————-

Séra, l’art en direct
[performance]

Pour compléter ce parcours à travers l’œuvre de Séra, l’artiste nous offre une performance artistique live qui sera l’occasion de découvrir son processus artistique pas à pas.

Samedi 08 Oct. à 16h30.