Institut français du Cambodge
Cinema | Samples from the Cannes Film Festival Cinema | Samples from the Cannes Film Festival
From October 26th to November 3rd, the French Institute of Cambodia offers a discovery of the latest films presented during the Cannes Film Festival... Cinema | Samples from the Cannes Film Festival

From October 26th to November 3rd, the French Institute of Cambodia offers a discovery of the latest films presented during the Cannes Film Festival 2018! For a unique cinema series, Davy Chou, French-Cambodian director, selected about twenty films from the many categories of the Festival, aiming at highlighting the great diversity of orientations, genres and styles of the current international movie production.

“Every year in May, Cannes is at the center of the cinema world. Known in the collective psyche for its famous red steps as well as its many stars, the Cannes Film Festival is above all where cinema history was made and remade: it revealed to the world so many young movie-makers, then unknown – Martin Scorsese, Quentin Tarantino, Apichatpong Weerasethakul or Xavier Dolan. Cannes bears this mark: it is the yearly rendez-vous of the greatest artists as well as the place of the most beautiful discoveries. This year, for example, with the Chinese Bi Gan and his extraordinary A Long Day’s Journey Into Night – grab your 3D glasses – or the first feature film of the fanciful Portuguese movie-maker Gabrial Abrantes, Diamantino, revealed during the International Critics’ Week. 

Which is the idea behind this program: to offer a look into the Cannes Film Festival, with one one hand movies made by the great directors who made a mark on this year’s edition, including the Palme D’Or, Shoplifters, by the Japanese Kore-Eda, which will open this selection, as well as the latest films by Jia Zhang-ke and Lee Chang Dong, presented in the official competition, or Gaspar Noé’s, who electrified the Directors’ Fortnight. And on the other hand, the surprises of Cannes 2018, coming from all the different categories of the festival, including Bi Gan’s and Abrantes’ movies, but also the animated documentary Samouni Road, the hit Sauvage, the latest film by Guillaume Nicloux shot in Vietnam, the Kenyan movie Rafiki and the Russian film Leto, both victim of censorship in their respective countries, as well as, finally, the oddity that is Knife + Heart by the French Yann Gonzalez, with Vanessa Paradis. We will also have the honor of welcoming Charles Tesson, General Representative of the International Critics’ Week, who will present the films of his category. 

I am thankful to the French Institute for opening its doors so that such movies may be shown in Cambodia. It is unique, it is a great opportunity, and I hope this week will be the occasion of a beautiful film festival. Happy screenings to all.”

Davy Chou 

Tarif : 3$ ; 1$ pour les étudiants sur présentation de la carte
Pass 10$ donnant accès à l’ensemble des projections à l’IFC (sauf projections au Prime)

Friday October 26th

Inauguration of the “Samples from the Cannes Film Festival” Week in the presence of Davy Chou

6pm. Shoplifters by Hirokazu KORE-EDA (2018)
Japanese with French subtitles  Palme d’Or 
After one of their shoplifting sessions, Osamu and his son come across a little girl in the freezing cold. At first reluctant to shelter the girl, Osamu’s wife agrees to take care of her after learning of the hardships she faces.

8pm-9pm Opening Cocktail

9pm. Shoplifters by Hirokazu KORE-EDA (2018)
Japanese with English subtitles  Palme d’Or 


Saturday October 27th

3:30pm. Leto by Kirill SEREBRENNIKOV (2018)
Russian with English subtitles – Official Competition
Leningrad, one Summer in the early Eighties. The underground rock scene is boiling. Young Viktor Tsoi is eager to make a name for himself. The encounter with his idol Mike and his beautiful wife Natasha will change his life forever.

6pm. Ash is the purest white by JIA Zhang-Ke (2018) 
Mandarin with English subtitles– Official Competition
Qiao is in love with Bin, a local mobster. During a fight between rival gangs, she fires a gun to protect him. Qiao gets five years in prison for this act of loyalty. Upon her release, she goes looking for Bin to pick up where they left off.

9pm. Climax by Gaspar NOÉ (2018)
French with English subtitles Directors’ Fortnight / Prix Art & Essai CICAE
Disclaimer: not recommended for people under 18
Birth and death are extraordinary experiences. Life is a fleeting pleasure.


Sunday October 28th

In partnership with the Chaktomuk Short Film Festival, discover 4 shorts awarded in 2018 in each of the four great categories of the Cannes Film Festival as well as 4 shorts awarded with the Chaktomuk Short Film Festival Prize these last 3 years.

2pm. Short Film Program

The Summer of the Electric Lion by Diego CÉSPEDES (2018)
Spanish with English subtitles Cinéfondation First Prize
Hidden in a house far from the city, Alonso accompanies his sister who is expecting to become the seventh wife of The Lion, a prophet who – rumors says- electrocutes you when you touch him.

Skip Day by Ivete LUCAS and Patrick BRESNAN (2018)
English Directors’ Fortnight First Prize
Intimate glimpses of one very special day in the lives of high-school seniors from an industrial corner of the Florida Everglades: prom’s over, the future is uncertain, and the irresistible pull of the beach makes the long-time friends drive 90 kilometers to chill, pose and revel in the waves.

Hector Malot: The Last Day of the Year by Jacqueline LENTZOU (2018)
Greek with English subtitles – International Critics’ Week First Prize
New Year’s Eve dawns in a moon-kissed car, and Sofia has a dream that she tells no-one: while walking on a desert, she gets to know that she is sick.

All these creatures by Charles WILLIAMS (2018)
English – Palme d’Or for Shorts 2018
An adolescent boy attempts to untangle his memories of a mysterious infestation, the unraveling of his father, and the little creatures inside us all.

A Fistful of Pebbles by CHAP Somchanrith (2015)
Khmer with English subtitles  CSFF 2015 Winner
A mysterious man finds himself in the moody monsoon, in a village terrorized by a local gang.

Good-Bye, Phnom Penh by NEANG Kavich (2016)
Khmer with English subtitles  CSFF 2016 Winner
Hidden in a hotel in the capital city of Phnom Penh, a young couple spends their final days together before one of them has to return to their homeland.

The Dinner by NETH Inrasethythep (2017)
Khmer with English subtitles CSFF 2017 Winner
When love is extreme, so are the consequences. A dark and edgy tale of love gone to the limits of reason.

—-

4:30pm. Samouni Road by Stefano SAVONA (2018)
Hebrew with French subtitles Directors’ Fortnight / L’Oeil d’or Documentary Award
In the rural outskirts of Gaza City, the Samouni family, is about to celebrate a wedding. It’s going to be the first celebration since the lastest war.Through these young survivors’ recollections, Samouni Road conveys a deep, multifaceted portrait of a family before, during and after the tragic event that changed its life forever.

7pm. To the Ends of the World by Guillaume NICLOUX (2018)
French with English subtitles – Directors’ Fortnight
Indochina, 1945.A young French soldier, Robert Tassen, survives a brutal massacre in which his brother dies in front of his eyes.Thirsty for revenge, he sets off alone, on a secret mission to find the assassins.


Monday October 29th

Disclaimer: the screenings scheduled on Monday, October 29 will take place at the Prime Cineplex Sovanna Mall. The IFC Pass is not applicable for these screenings.

5pm. Burning by LEE Chang-Dong (2018)
Korean with English subtitles – Official Competition
Deliveryman Jongsu is out on a job when he runs into Haemi, a girl who once lived in his neighborhood. She asks if he’d mind looking after her cat while she’s away. On her return, she introduces Jongsu to an enigmatic young man named Ben, whom she met during her trip. One day, Ben tells Jongsu about a most unusual hobby…

7:30pm. Long Day’s Journey into night by BI Gan (2018)
Mandarin with English subtitles – Un certain regard
Luo Hongwu returns to Kaili, the hometown from which he fled many years ago. He begins the search for the woman he loved, and whom he has never been able to forget.


Tuesday October 30th

9pm. Rafiki by Wanuri KAHIU (2018)
Swahili with English subtitles – Un certain regard
“Good Kenyan girls become good Kenyan wives.” Kena and Ziki long for something more. When love blossoms between them, the two girls will be forced to choose between happiness and safety in a conservative society.


Wednesday October 31st

In the presence of Charles TESSON, General Representative of the International Critics’ Week

7pm. Ultra Pulpe by Bertrand MANDICO (2018)
French with English subtitles International Critics’ Week
An abandoned seaside resorts. The shooting for a fantasy film about the end of an era wraps up. Two women, both members of the film crew, are on the verge of concluding their love affair.

9pm. Diamantino by Gabriel ABRANTES and Daniel SCHMIDT (2018)
Portuguese with English subtitles International Critics’ Week / Grand Prix Nespresso
Diamantino, the world’s premiere soccer star, loses his special touch and ends his career in disgrace.Searching for a new purpose, the international icon sets on a delirious odyssey…


Thursday November 1st

In the presence of Charles TESSON, General Representative of the International Critics’ Week

7pm. Chris the Swiss by Anja KOFMEL (2018)
German, Spanish, with English subtitles International Critics’ Week
Croatia, January 1992: In the middle of the war, a young journalists’ body is found dressed with the uniform of an international mercenary group. 19 years later, his cousin Anja Kofmelinvestigates to understand his story.

9pm. Sauvage by Camille VIDAL-NAQUET (2018)
French with English subtitles International Critics’ Week / Rising Star Award
Disclaimer: not recommended for people under 18
Leo is 22 and sells his body on the street for a bit of cash. The men come and go, and he stays right here… longing for love.


Friday November 2nd

7pm. Los Silencios by Beatriz SEIGNER (2018)
Spanish, Portuguese with English subtitles Directors’ Fortnight
Amparo and her two children, Nuria and Fabio, arrive in a small island in the middle of Amazonia, after running away from the Colombian armed conflict in which her husband disappeared.One day, he reappears. The family is haunted by this strange secret and discovers the island is populated by ghosts.

9:30pm. Knife + Heart by Yann GONZALEZ (2018)
French with English subtitles Official Competition
Disclaimer: not recommended for people under 16
Paris, Summer 1979. Anne produces third-rate gay porn. After her editor and lover Lois leaves her, she tries to win her back by shooting her most ambitious film.But one of her actors is brutally murdered and Anne gets caught up in a strange investigation that turns her life upside-down.


Saturday November 3rd

10am. Ten Years Thailand by Aditya ASSARAT, Apichatpong WEERASETHAKUL, Wisit SASANATIENG and Chulayarnnon SIRIPHOL (2018)
Thai with English subtitles  Séances Spéciales
10 Years Thailand is an omnibus film inviting four Thai directors to imagine their country a decade from now. Each contributes an episode that taken together, sound a warning about the current political situation in Thailand. What will the decade ahead look like?

2pm. L’amour debout by Michaël DACHEUX (2018)
French with English subtitles – ACID Selection 
Martin, out of desperation, joins Léa in Paris. They are both 25, and they were both each other’s first love. Now, each of them is building their adult life, come what may.

Institut français du Cambodge
Cinéma | Regards sur le festival de Cannes Cinéma | Regards sur le festival de Cannes
Du 26 octobre au 3 novembre, l’Institut français vous propose de découvrir les films présentés lors du dernier Festival de Cannes lors d’un cycle... Cinéma | Regards sur le festival de Cannes

Du 26 octobre au 3 novembre, l’Institut français vous propose de découvrir les films présentés lors du dernier Festival de Cannes lors d’un cycle cinéma inédit ! Davy Chou, cinéaste franco-cambodgien, a sélectionné une vingtaine de films issus des différentes catégories du Festival, qui mettra en lumière la grande diversité des orientations, des genres et des styles de la production cinématographique mondiale actuelle.

« Chaque année en mai, Cannes devient le centre du cinéma mondial. Identifié dans l’imaginaire collectif pour ses célèbres marches rouges et son parterre de stars, le Festival de Cannes est surtout le lieu où l’histoire du cinéma s’est souvent faite et refaite : tant de jeunes cinéastes alors inconnus s’y sont révélés aux yeux du monde : Martin Scorsese, Quentin Tarantino, Apichatpong Weerasethakul ou encore Xavier Dolan. Cannes est marqué par cela : le rendez- vous annuel des plus grands auteurs, mais aussi le lieu des plus belles découvertes, par exemple, cette année, le chinois Bi Gan et son extraordinaire Un grand voyage vers la nuit (préparez vos lunettes 3D) ou le premier long métrage du fantasque cinéaste portugais Gabriel Abrantes, Diamantino, révélé à la Semaine de la Critique.

C’est l’idée de cette programmation : offrir un regard sur le festival de Cannes, avec les films de grands auteurs qui ont marqué cette édition, dont bien sûr la Palme d’or, Une affaire de famille du japonais Kore-Eda, qui ouvrira le programme, ainsi que les derniers films de Jia Zhang- ke et Lee Chang Dong, présentés en compétition officielle, et de Gaspard Noé, qui a électrisé la Quinzaine des Réalisateurs. Et avec, à côté, les plus belles surprises de Cannes 2018, venues de toutes les sections du festival, dont les films de Bi Gan et Abrantes donc, mais aussi le documentaire d’animation Samouni Road, le choc Sauvage, le dernier film de Guillaume Nicloux, tourné au Vietnam, le film kényan Rafiki et le film russe Leto, tous deux victimes de la censure dans leur pays, et, en clôture, le film ovni du français Yann Gonzalez, Un couteau dans le cœur avec Vanessa Paradis. Nous aurons, de plus, l’honneur de la présence de Charles Tesson, délégué général de la Semaine de la Critique, qui présentera les films de sa sélection.

Je suis reconnaissant à l’Institut Français d’ouvrir l’espace pour que de tels films soient montrés au Cambodge. C’est unique, c’est une grande chance, et j’espère que cette semaine sera l’occasion d’une belle fête de cinéma. Bonnes projections à tous. »

Davy Chou

Tarif : 3$ ; 1$ pour les étudiants sur présentation de la carte
Pass 10$ donnant accès à l’ensemble des projections à l’IFC (sauf projections au Prime)

Vendredi 26 octobre

Inauguration de la semaine « Regards sur le festival de Cannes » en présence de Davy Chou

18h. Une affaire de famille de Hirokazu KORE-EDA (2018)
Japonais sous-titré français  Palme d’Or 
Au retour d’une nouvelle expédition de vol à l’étalage, Osamu et son fils recueillent dans la rue une petite fille qui semble livrée à elle-même. D’abord réticente à l’idée d’abriter l’enfant pour la nuit, la femme d’Osamu accepte de s’occuper d’elle lorsqu’elle comprend que ses parents la maltraitent.

20h-21h Cocktail 

21h. Une affaire de famille de Hirokazu KORE-EDA (2018)
Japonais sous-titré anglais  Palme d’Or 


Samedi 27 octobre

15h30. L’été de Kirill SEREBRENNIKOV (2018)
Russe sous-titré anglais – Compétition officielle
Leningrad, un été au début des années 80: la scène rock est en pleine ébullition. Viktor Tsoï cherche à se faire un nom. La rencontre avec son idole Mike et son épouse, la belle Natacha, va changer le cours de son destin.

18h. Les éternels de JIA Zhang-Ke (2018) 
Chinois sous-titré anglais – Compétition officielle
En 2001, la jeune Qiao est amoureuse de Bin, petit chef de la pègre locale de Datong. Alors que Bin est attaqué par une bande rivale, Qiao prend sa défense et tire plusieurs coups de feu. Elle est condamnée à cinq ans de prison. Une fois relâchée, elle part à la recherche de Bin.

21h. Climax de Gaspar NOÉ (2018)
Français sous-titré anglais Quinzaine des réalisateurs / Prix Art & Essai CICAE
Avertissement : séance déconseillée aux -18 ans
Naître et mourir sont des expériences extraordinaires. Vivre est un plaisir fugitif.


Dimanche 28 octobre

En partenariat avec le Chaktomuk Short Film Festival, découvrez quatre courts-métrages primés en 2018 dans chacune des grandes sections du Festival de Cannes, ainsi que les courts-métrages ayant reçus le Grand Prix du CSFF ces trois dernières années.

14h. Programme de courts-métrages

L’été du lion électrique de Diego CÉSPEDES (2018)
Espagnol sous-titré anglais Premier prix de la Cinéfondation
Caché dans une maison loin de la ville, Alonso accompagne sa sœur qui attend de devenir la septième femme du Lion, un prophète qui, selon la rumeur, électrocute quand on le touche.

Skip Day de Ivete LUCAS et Patrick BRESNAN (2018)
Anglais Premier prix de la Quinzaine des réalisateurs
Un regard intime sur une journée très spéciale dans la vie de lycéens d’un coin industriel des Everglades en Floride. Le bal de fin d’année est derrière eux, l’avenir est incertain, et l’irrésistible attraction de la plage pousse les amis de longue date à parcourir 90 kilomètres pour se détendre et se délecter des vagues.

Hector Malot: The Last Day of the Year de Jacqueline LENTZOU (2018)
Grec sous-titré anglais – Premier prix de la Semaine de la Critique
Le soleil du dernier jour de l’année sur une voiture encore baignée par la lune. Sofia y fait un rêve qu’elle garde pour elle-même. Sofia fait un rêve qu’elle ne raconte à personne : alors qu’elle marche dans le désert, elle apprend qu’elle est malade.

Toutes ces créatures de Charles WILLIAMS (2018)
Anglais – Palme d’or du court-métrage 2018
Un adolescent tente de démêler ses souvenirs d’une épidémie mystérieuse, l’effondrement de son père et des petites créatures à l’intérieur de nous tous.

A Fistful of Pebbles de CHAP  Somchanrith (2015)
Khmer sous-titré anglais –  Grand Prix CSFF
Un homme mystérieux se retrouve sous la mousson, dans un village terrorisé par un gang local.

Good-Bye, Phnom Penh de NEANG Kavich (2016)
Khmer sous-titré anglais –  Grand Prix CSFF
Caché dans un hôtel de Phnom Penh, un jeune couple passe ses derniers jours ensemble avant que l’un d’entre eux ne rentre dans son pays natal.

The Dinner de NETH Inrasethythep (2017)
Khmer sous-titré anglais  Grand Prix CSFF
Quand l’amour est extrême, il en va de même pour les conséquences. Une histoire d’amour sombre et nerveuse qui a dépassé les limites de la raison.

16h30. Samouni Road de Stefano SAVONA (2018)
Hébreu sous-titré français Quinzaine des réalisateurs / Oeil d’or du documentaire
Dans la périphérie rurale de la ville de Gaza, la famille Samouni s’apprête à célébrer un mariage. C’est la première fête depuis la dernière guerre. Au fil de leurs souvenirs, Samouni Road dresse un portrait de cette famille avant, pendant et après l’événement qui a changé leur vie à jamais.

19h. Les confins du monde de Guillaume NICLOUX (2018)
Français sous-titré anglais – Quinzaine des réalisateurs
Indochine, 1945. Robert Tassen, jeune militaire français, est le seul survivant d’un massacre au cours duquel son frère a péri sous ses yeux. Aveuglé par la vengeance, Robert s’engage dans une quête solitaire à la recherche des assassins.


Lundi 29 octobre

Attention : les projections du lundi 29 octobre auront lieu au Prime Cineplex Sovanna Mall. Le pass cinéma n’est pas applicable sur ces séances.

17h. Burning de LEE Chang-Dong (2018)
Coréen sous-titré anglais – Compétition officielle
Lors d’une livraison, Jongsu, un jeune coursier, tombe par hasard sur Haemi, une jeune fille qui habitait auparavant son quartier.Elle lui demande de s’occuper de son chat pendant qu’elle voyage. À son retour, Haemi lui présente Ben, un homme mystérieux qu’elle a rencontré là-bas. Un jour, Ben révèle à Jongsu un bien étrange passe-temps…

19h30. Un grand voyage vers la nuit de BI Gan (2018)
Chinois sous-titré anglais – Un certain regard
Luo Hongwu revient à Kaili, sa ville natale, après s’être enfui il y a plusieurs années.Il se met à la recherche de la femme qu’il a aimée et qu’il n’a jamais oubliée.


Mardi 30 octobre

21h. Rafiki de Wanuri KAHIU (2018)
Swahili sous-titré anglais – Un certain regard
À Nairobi, Kena et Ziki,deux jeunes lycéennes attirées l’une vers l’autre dans une société kényane conservatrice, vont être contraintes de choisir entre amour et sécurité…


Mercredi 31 octobre

En présence de Charles TESSON, délégué général de la Semaine de la Critique

19h. Ultra Pulpe de Bertrand MANDICO (2018)
Français sous-titré anglais Semaine de la Critique
Station balnéaire abandonnée. Fin de tournage d’un film fantastique sur la fin d’un monde. Deux femmes, membres de l’équipe de cinéma, sont sur le point de mettre fin à leur relation amoureuse.

21h. Diamantino de Gabriel ABRANTES et Daniel SCHMIDT (2018)
Portugais sous-titré anglais Semaine de la Critique / Grand Prix Nespresso
Diamantino, icône absolue du football, est capable à lui seul de déjouer les défenses les plus redoutables. Alors qu’il joue le match le plus important de sa vie, son génie n’opère plus.


Jeudi 1er novembre

En présence de Charles TESSON, délégué général de la Semaine de la Critique

19h. Chris the Swiss de Anja KOFMEL (2018)
Allemand, Espagnol sous-titré anglais Semaine de la Critique
Croatie, janvier 1992. En plein conflit yougoslave, le corps d’un jeune journaliste suisse assassinée est retrouvé dans de mystérieuses circonstances. 19 ans plus tard, sa cousine Anja Kofmel décide d’enquêter pour découvrir ce qui s’est passé.

21h. Sauvage de Camille VIDAL-NAQUET (2018)
Français sous-titré anglais Semaine de la Critique / Prix de la Révélation
Avertissement : séance déconseillée aux -18 ans
Léo, 22 ans, se vend dans la rue pour un peu d’argent. Les hommes défilent. Lui reste là, en quête d’amour.


Vendredi 2 novembre

19h. Los Silencios de Beatriz SEIGNER (2018)
Espagnol, Portugais sous-titré anglais  Quinzaine des réalisateurs
Amparoet ses deux enfants, Nuria et Fabio, arrivent sur une petite île au milieu de l’Amazonie après avoir fui le conflit armé colombien dans lequel son mari a disparu.Un jour, celui-ci réapparaît. La famille est hantée par cet étrange secret et découvre que l’île est peuplée de fantômes.

21h30. Un couteau dans le cœur de Yann GONZALEZ (2018)
Français sous-titré anglais  Compétition officielle
Avertissement : séance déconseillée aux -16 ans
Paris, été 1979. Anne est productrice de pornos gays au rabais. Lorsque Loïs, sa monteuse et compagne, la quitte, elle tente de la reconquérir en tournant un film plus ambitieux.Mais un des acteurs est retrouvé sauvagement assassiné, et Anne est entraînée dans une enquête étrange qui va bouleverser sa vie.


Samedi 3 novembre

10h. Ten Years Thailand de Aditya ASSARAT, Apichatpong WEERASETHAKUL, Wisit SASANATIENG et Chulayarnnon SIRIPHOL (2018)
Thaï sous-titré anglais  Séances Spéciales
10 Years Thailand est un film omnibus invitant quatre réalisateurs thaïlandais à imaginer leur pays dans dix ans. Chacun contribue à un épisode qui, pris ensemble, sonnent un avertissement sur la situation politique actuelle en Thaïlande. A quoi ressemblera la décennie à venir?

14h. L’amour debout de Michaël DACHEUX (2018)
Français sous-titré anglais – L’ACID
Martin, dans un dernier espoir, vient retrouver Léa à Paris. Ils ont tous deux vingt-cinq ans et ont vécu ensemble leur première histoire d’amour. Désormais, chacun s’emploie, vaille que vaille, à construire sa vie d’adulte.