Studio Images Portraits | Christian Milovanoff Studio Images Portraits | Christian Milovanoff
Photo credit: Joty Mousar Every year, Studio Images, the IFC photography workshop, invites two professional photographers for a residency dedicated to photography. After Laure... Studio Images Portraits | Christian Milovanoff
Photo credit: Joty Mousar

Every year, Studio Images, the IFC photography workshop, invites two professional photographers for a residency dedicated to photography. After Laure Vasconi and Chantal Stoman last year, it’s Christian Milovanoff’s turn to teach the students his technique for a residency around architecture photography! The result of their work will be displayed during the opening of the exhibition “Architectures and Landscapes” on Thursday, April 27 at 6:30pm, and until June 2 in the Gallery of the French Institute.

Discover Christian Milavanoff in 7 questions:

  • When did you start photography? How was your passion born? 

In 1976, after graduating in Sociology and Ethnology. As for my passion for photography… it started when I was a teenager, when I was visiting a lot of museums, and more precisely Spanish museums, with my family.

  • Tell us about your previous projects. 

I’ve always worked in closed spaces, such as museums, supermarkets, offices, etc… Enclosed areas where I could build an image or find one. The outdoor frightens me, unless I found focal points, and no “get-outs”! The image supposes a frame. I work so that I can put what I see into one.

  • What are you favorite things to shoot?

Museums, or museums-to-be. Enclosed areas, folded onto themselves.

  • Who are your favorite photographers, the ones you admire, the ones you’d like others to discover as well? 

They are many, of course. Walker Evans, Eugène Atget, Jeff Wall, Alexandre Rodchenko, August Sander, Bernd et Hilla Becher, Suzanne Lafont, Dorothea Lange, let’s say those for which the form makes sense and for which the words of Jean-Luc Godard ring true: “A thought that forms a form that thinks.”

  • What is your best souvenir with Studio Images ?

We worked in Siemp Reap, and working together for 5 days enabled us to talk – whether those conversations were short or long, they were always fruitful. I don’t have a specific moment to share in minde, just a detail: change a camera angle to find an image and see the happiness bloom in the eyes of the photograph.

  • Do you have any advice for a young photographer willing to start photography? 

Observe, observe the world, analyze it, but observe it through your camera, through the lens, through a frame. Be on the alert. To see, you have to be seen. So see again and again. And forbid yourself the use of wide-angle lens that distorts the world and forces the photograph to re-frame it.

  • What are your next projects?

Carry on with what I’m doing… Imagine another exhibition along the line of TERRIFIC. And work from the pictures takes in Angkor, Siem Reap, Phnom Penh… It’s an ongoing process during which I’ll find a proposition, an angle, a topic (as much as this work makes any sense).

Les portraits du Studio Images | Christian Milovanoff Les portraits du Studio Images | Christian Milovanoff
Crédit photo : Joty Mousar Chaque année, le Studio Images, l’atelier photo de l’Institut français, invite deux photographes professionnels pour une résidence dédiée à... Les portraits du Studio Images | Christian Milovanoff
Crédit photo : Joty Mousar

Chaque année, le Studio Images, l’atelier photo de l’Institut français, invite deux photographes professionnels pour une résidence dédiée à la photographie. Après Laure Vasconi et Chantal Stoman l’année dernière, c’est à Christian Milovanoff de partager sa technique autour de la photographie d’architecture avec les étudiants du Studio Images ! Le résultat de leurs travaux sera visible lors du vernissage de l’exposition « Architectures et Paysages » jeudi 27 avril à 18h30, et jusqu’au 3 juin dans la galerie de l’Institut français.

Découvrez Christian Milovanoff en 7 questions :

Quand avez-vous commencé la photo ? Comment est née votre passion pour la photo ?

En 1976, après avoir terminé des études universitaires en sociologie et ethnologie. Quant à dire d’où la passion des images vient, de l’adolescence quand j’allais en famille visiter les musées, principalement ceux en Espagne.

Parlez-nous de vos travaux antérieurs.

J’ai toujours photographié des espaces intérieurs, musées, supermarchés, bureaux, etc… des lieux clos où je pouvais construire une image ou la trouver. Le dehors m’effraye à moins que je ne trouve des points d’appui, et aucun échappatoire ! L’image suppose un cadre. Je fais en sorte que ce que je vois entre dans un cadre.

Quels sont vos thèmes favoris ?

Les espaces muséaux ou en devenir Musées, les Intérieurs, les lieux clos, repliés sur eux-mêmes.

Quels sont vos photographes préférés, ceux que vous admirez, ceux que vous voudriez faire découvrir ?

Ils sont nombreux forcément. Walker Evans, Eugène Atget, Jeff Wall, Alexandre Rodchenko, August Sander, Bernd et Hilla Becher, Suzanne Lafont, Dorothea Lange, disons ceux et celles pour qui la forme fait sens, ceux et celles qui donnent à penser et dont les mots de Jean-Luc Godard pourraient s’appliquer : « une pensée qui forme une forme qui pense ».

Quel est votre meilleur souvenir du Studio Images ?

D’abord nous avons travaillé à Siem Reap, et se retrouver ensemble durant 5 jours a permis des échanges longs, brefs mais toujours fructueux. Une anecdote ? Non, un détail : modifier un angle de vue pour trouver une image et constater alors le bonheur du photographe dans ses yeux.

Quels conseils donneriez-vous à un(e) jeune photographe pour se lancer ?

Regarder, Regarder le monde, le scruter, mais le regarder à travers l’appareil photographique, à travers le verre de visée, à travers un cadre donc. Être sans cesse aux aguets. Pour voir, il faut avoir vu. Donc voir et revoir. (Et puis s’interdire d’utiliser le grand angle qui déforme le réel alors que le photographe doit le former).

Quels sont vos prochains projets ?

Continuer ce que je fais… Imaginer une autre exposition comme FORMIDABLE. Et puis travailler à partir des images faites à Angkor, Siem Reap, Phnom Penh. C’est en cours de travail que je trouverai une entrée, une proposition, un sujet (si tant est que ce mot ait un sens).